Vancouver photog Greg Girard has a show at the Monte Clark Gallery, featuring pix from a strange era in Vancouver:  somehow lost between “dump the freeways” and Expo 86, but still “. . . a port town at the end of the railway line”.

When I started making these photographs, especially the pictures of people in the mid-1970s, I felt like I was photographing a world nobody knew anything about, apart from the people living it, of course. I was something of an interloper, but my youth protected me. It’s curious to consider these pictures now, practically unseen since they were made, in terms of a Vancouver they might have some potential to invent. –Greg Girard

I’m heading over there  (*gasp*:  east of Main) in the hopes of expanding my ideas about photographs and about Vancouver’s heritage.

Girard

Thanks to the Monte Clark Gallery and Greg Girard for the image:  click to enlarge

The show ends May 27.  More info HERE.