Skip to content

A last run in May: Indicators of Vancouver

May 10, 2013

Just went out on this summer-like afternoon for a run through the West End – the last one I’ll have a chance to do until June.  Because I’m off to the Netherlands on May 11, thanks to the Dutch government.  Like Michael Geller before me, I’m being accompanied by the Dutch Consul General, Johannes Vervloed, while we explore their ports and logistics. All that infrastructure! They too deal with questions about carbon, climate and commodities – or at least I`ll be asking.

I hope to live blog while there, beginning sometime next week, posting on Price Tags occasional observations and pics close to when they happen.  And then I’m off to Madrid and Barcelona, because, well, I’ve got to see those cities sometime in my life and Spain is beautiful in May.

So here are a few shots I grabbed while on my run, just before I pack and head off – a few vignettes that say something about the culture of this place, and about how we celebrate it.

.

Walk on

.

 … how we respect it.

Walk On  2

.

… and even how we change it.

Walk on 3

.

That last shot is of Comox Street, just east of Denman, where they are putting in the curbs for a separated bike lane as part of the Comox-Helmcken Greenway.  (I’ll confess scepticism: I’m not quite sure why separation on only one block makes sense, when cyclists are expected to use the rest of Comox like the other greenways and bikeways in the city.)

But I can see already the separated design is giving the block a distinct identity, making it even more friendly and accommodating for everyone.  We’ll see how it works when completed.

Or at least you will –  because it’ll happen along with other small changes while I’m away.

New cities, new cultures, new ideas.   I’ll be experiencing them, and sharing some of it through Price Tags, while remembering and explaining what’s special about the place I’m from.

See above.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2013 7:29 pm

    Have fun!!

  2. May 11, 2013 12:42 pm

    I’m guessing that the separation is to narrow the vehicle carriageway enough that it can’t accommodate two-way vehicle traffic, and the curbs stop cars from using the bike lane to go the wrong way.

  3. May 12, 2013 5:39 pm

    Fascinating country – Enjoy your trip, Gordon.

    I completed my M.Sc. in Amsterdam. The Dutch are prime movers in many respects, especially when it comes to implementing sustainable practices in a wide array of daily life activities. The Netherlands, for instance, is the most densely populated country amongst the Western nations and was the first to cut down its forests 400 years ago. The latter helped them develop ingenuity in urban and infrastructure planning and design.

    Since you will be visiting the Port, I assume you will be spending some time in Rotterdam. A very interesting Rotterdam-based think-tank / Social Enterprise spin-off is called Enviu and is located next to Rotterdam Centraal Station: http://enviu.org/

    Port Metro Vancouver is also getting innovative, sustainably speaking. One of my next blog post on http://carbontalks.ca/ will be covering the recent Port Metro roll-out of the Smart Fleet trucking strategy of which the official media release announcement can be found here http://bit.ly/YiFDxk

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,807 other followers

